Hybrid vehicle
    Home >> Formula >> About >> Worldwide Competition
Worldwide Competition

Formula SAE Michigan

Formula SAE Michigan is now held annually at Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, MI. Formula SAE Michigan is the original “modern” Formula SAE competition and is still regarded as the Formula SAE World Championship despite the presence of the FISITA World Cup.

Wisconsin Racing has participated in Formula SAE Michigan since the team was founded and has obtained extremely successful results since the turn of the century.

Formula SAE Virginia

Formula SAE Virginia was held for two years at Virginia International Raceway (VIR). The event was held two weeks prior to Formula SAE Michigan and drew about 20 teams each year. The atmosphere of this event was quite unique and the Patriot Course at VIR on which autocross and endurance were held was undoubtedly the best track in the entire series.

Much to the dismay of the participates the event was discontinued for 2010 due to lack of funding.

Wisconsin Racing competed at VIR both years the competiton was held. In 2008, the team dominated the competition scoring 939.6 points, the most ever scored ever at any Formula SAE competition. The team was less successful in 2009 but still took home a first place design award.

Formula SAE West

Taking place annually in Fontana, California at Auto Club Speedway in mid-June, Formula SAE West accommodates teams from the West Coast of the United States but still sees competitors from across the country. The registration is limited to 80 teams for this event.

Wisconsin Racing will bring the WR-211 to the California Republic and compete in Formula SAE West for the first time in June 2011.

Formula Student Germany

Formula Student Germany has been held since 2006 and is sponsored by Verein Deutscher Ingenieure. The event takes place at the famed Hockenheimring buried deep in the forest in the German state of Baden-Wuertemberg. Formula Student Germany is arguably the best run and most publicized Formula Student competition. About 80 teams compete in this event and the legendary party sponsored by MAHLE takes place after the conclusion of the awards ceremony.

Wisconsin Racing has participated in 2007 and 2010. In 2007 the team was poised to take home a first place trophy but these hopes were derailed after a freak failure in the Endurance portion of the event.

Formula Student Austria

Formula Student Austria was first held in 2009 and the event is currently drawing about 30 schools annually. The event is opportunely places to take place a week after Formula Student Germany each August.

Formula Student (England)

Formula Student began in 1998 and held annually in June. Since 2007, the competition has been located at Silverstone Circuit in Northamptonshire. About 80 teams compete in this event.

Formula SAE Italy

Taking place annually at Riccardo Paletti Circuit, Formula SAE Italy is regarded by participating teams as the most fun Formula SAE competition because of its laid back atmosphere and location. The event has been held since 2005 with about 40 teams participating.

Formula SAE Japan

The inaugural Formula SAE Japan was held in 2003 and is currently being held annually each September. Teams competing in this event a predominately from East Asia but the event draws a few teams each year from Europe and America.

Formula SAE Brazil

Formula SAE Brazil is held at Campo de Provas da Goodyear and competitors have come exclusively from South America. Formula SAE Brazil does not have an English website so the Wisconsin Racing webmaster knows little else about this competition.

Formula SAE Australasia

Formula SAE Austrailasia was first held in the year 2000 and the competitors are almost exclusively Australian teams due to long travel distance and a prohibitively high entrance fee. The event is held each December.

Formula Student Spain

Formula Student Spain was inaugurated in 2010 at the Circuit de Catalunya. About 10 teams participated in the Event. The event will continue to take place annually in late September.

Formula Student Hungary

Formula Student Hungary was inaugurated in 2010 in Győr. About 20 teams participated in the Event. The event will continue to take place annually in late August.